top of page

My career advice at mindformers.org



My little contribution to Mindformers.org The original post is available here.


Hi,

My name is Juan and I've been marketing new technologies for the last 10 years. Originally from Spain, I graduated in the UK in 2006 and I've been fortunate to develop my career doing what I like in an industry I love.


A technologist at heart and a marketer by training. Also, I've always held international positions which, as an expat, make me feel more comfortable (and valuable!). Every time I look for a new opportunity, I keep those 3 things in mind. What I know = marketing, what I like = new technologies, who I am = An Internationalist who speaks 3 languages.


Also, at the end of the day, work is work... so I try to keep my personal life and loved ones at a higher level. Friends and family are worth my stress and tears while jobs... well they are a mean to an end. We do spend quite a lot of time doing it so be aware of your strengths and your passions to make it as likeable as you possibly can. If you are not happy (and that has happened to me too...) start looking for an alternative asap. Your gut feeling is right most of the times so follow it. It won't be the end of the world. If you have some savings, take some time off between jobs, it will help you clear your mind.


In my case, adding those 3 ingredients to the equation has helped me with a good career progression and the sky is my limit.


Remember, you are in the driving seat!

bottom of page